Walking the Walk: Protecting Children

One thing that I have learned about myself since embarking on my journey into ministry, is that I am excellent at “talking the talk.” Sometimes though, I am not great at “walking the walk.”

I’m working on my walk.

One of my passions in this life is the protection of children, and the magic of childhood. For 10+ years I have humbly served in my community as a Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA). I have often said that serving as a volunteer for abused and neglected children is the hardest job that I will ever love.

As much as I love CASA, and I do, I often feel like I’m not doing enough. My walk has been a little cautious and meandering in the last few years.

Recently a local newspaper published two articles which struck a personal chord with me and spurred me to action:

Both articles resonated with me for vastly different reasons, but at their core they both speak to the absolute horror with which some children move through this life. It is a horror which is both detestable, and preventable.

Thanks to a class which is part of my current seminary experience, I was spurred into action, and decided to appeal to my community in the form of a Letter to the Editor. It was not an assignment which I went to eagerly – it is far easier to hide in the shadows (or online), than to step into the light, especially in your community.

I’m glad that I stepped into the light today. Glad that I have started a walk that fits more with my talk, and ultimately with my true self, all of it.

You can read my letter to the editor here: Protecting Children. The content of the letter is also below.

Dear Editor,

It was with great horror and sadness that I read the article on October 16 regarding an area resident charged with the abuse of his 2-year old daughter. It was with the equal feeling that I read the October 18 article regarding an area priest who pleads guilty to two felonies: endangering the welfare of children and corruption of minors.

The American Society for the Positive Care of Children reports that “almost five children die every day from child abuse.” Of those children, 74.6% die from neglect and 44.2% die from physical abuse. Almost 60,000 children a year a sexually abused; and in 2016, child abuse reports involved over 7 million children.

Psalm 127 reminds us that a child is a gift, and to love and protect them a true honor in this life. It is incumbent upon all of us to remember that “our village” is every single child. Our mandate as human beings is to love and care for one another. The only thing that is more important is the love and care of every child in our community. That is a job that belongs to all of us, regardless of parental status, job function, race, religion, creed, or any other number of limiting factors.

This month when you replace the batteries in your smoke detector and make out your holiday shopping lists, I urge you to keep your eyes open for the overall health and welfare of our children in our community. Ask questions, seek answers, and help those adults on the brink of being overwhelmed.

We are so fortunate in Warren to have so many agencies, organizations, and religious institutions who truly want to help children and families have safe and productive lives. If you feel yourself getting overwhelmed, I encourage you to reach out and ask for help. Ask for help early, and ask for help often.

Children are not only our future, but they are also our present. Children, like adults, have the right to be cherished and protected. Fiercely protecting that right is a duty that we all share.


3 thoughts on “Walking the Walk: Protecting Children

  1. Dear Mellissa,

    I read with great interest your article on child abuse. The article also made me realize that after all this is a global problem and the numbers you shared in the letter to the editor are indeed scary. Here in Angola the phenomenon is the same including even churches that accuse children of witches. My own Church has recently decided to develop a policy for the protection of children and the elderly in the communities where we serve.
    Thank you very much for the article.

    Peace,
    Luís

    Like

  2. Thanks for a thoughtful post on a difficult topic. We’ve recently had a couple of horrifying incidents involving fatal abuse of children in this part of Maine. Much of the resulting public discourse has been focused on the underfunding of the state Child Protective Services, which has left the agency chronically understaffed and ill-equipped to intervene before severe damage is done to a child. Unfortunately, in the heated rhetoric that seems to come with all political conversation these days, most people jump right past mourning the tragic death of a child to engaging in shouting matches about which party is most to blame.

    Like

  3. Melissa, Thank you for being such a strong advocate for children. As an attorney, I have had the opportunity to be a court appointed Guardian Ad litum, for children in cases, and the goal is to protect their interest above all others and at all cost. The neglect, abuse or patronization of children is deplorable, and as Christians we are behooved to turn the tide.

    Like

Leave a comment